call for papers, previous message

From: (Kazuhito Ohmaki)
Subject:  CFP: APSEC94, The First Asia-Pacific Software Engineering Conference
Date:     Mon, 24 Jan 1994 20:26:12 GMT

                        Preliminary Call For Papers

The First Asia-Pacific Software Engineering Conference (APSEC)

                   December 7 - 9, 1994, Tokyo, Japan

                    The Special Interest Group on Software Engineering
                of the Information Processing Society of Japan (IPSJ/SIGSE)

The first Asia-Pacific Software Engineering Conference (APSEC) is
organized to bring together researchers and practitioners in software
engineering from the international community, mainly from Asia-Pacific

In the software engineering arena, the North American countries and the
European countries have their own well-established international
conferences which have been providing good occasions for researchers
and practitioners to exchange their ideas.  However, these conferenc *es
have been usually held far away from the Asia-Pacific countries.  This
geographic condition is one of the major reasons to limit the number
of papers accepted and the number of people attending these
conferences.  This inevitably led to an accumulation of cries such as
"Why we don't have our own conference in the Asia-Pacific region!"
which has finally encouraged us to establish a new conference.

APSEC has originally grown out of the joint activities of the two
SIGSE's, namely the Special Interest Group of the Information Processing
Society of Japan (IPSJ/SIGSE) and the Special Interest Group of the
Korea Information and Science Society (KISS/SIGSE), in organizing the
Joint Conference on Software Engineering (JCSE) twice.  The first one
was successfully held in Seoul, Korea in March 1992 and the second one
was successfully held in Fukuoka, Japan in November 1993, which have
received twice as many papers as the first conference from several Asian
countries.  By seeing this, we understood that there are growing demands
in the Asia-Pacific countries to have our own conference on software
engineering.  This led us to decide to terminate the JCSE after the
Fukuoka conference and then to start a new conference, i.e., APSEC.  We
believe that APSEC will give the researchers and practitioners in that
area a greater opportunity to express and exchange their ideas among
people in neighboring countries, and thus to expedite leveling up of
their research and development.


The conference will address the following principal themes:

Requirements Engineering, Specification & Design, Testing, Maintenance,
CASE tools, Software Metrics, Software Process, Reuse, Reverse
Engineering, Object Orientation, CSCW, Distributed Development,
Information System Development, Project Management, Quality Assurance,
Education, and the other topics relevant to Software Engineering Field


APSEC Program Committee solicits original technical papers and proposals
for panel discussions.  All contributions will be reviewed and evaluated
based on originality, technical quality, and relevance to Software

TECHNICAL PAPERS should be no longer than 6000 words.  All papers should
include a separate cover sheet which provides the following information
: the title, authors' names, postal and electronic mail addresses,
telephone and fax numbers, a 200 words abstract, a list of keywords.
Experience papers or practical papers are also welcome to be submitted.
Submitted papers should be written in English and clarify what is new
and significant about the presented work.  Accepted papers will be
published in the conference proceedings.

PANEL PROPOSALS should describe the title and a brief description
(including an aim and a goal).  The panel chair and panelists can be
included in the proposal if the author has a plan.  They should be no
longer than two pages.
Six (6) copies of TECHNICAL PAPERS and PANEL
PROPOSALS should be sent by April 30,
1994 to either of program co-chairs, not both. :

>From Asia, Africa, and Europe             From Australia, Oceania and America
Motoshi Saeki                             Roger Duke
Dept. of Electrical & Electronic Eng.     Dept. of Computer Science
Tokyo Institute of Technology             University of Queensland
Ookayama 2-12-1, Meguro-ku                Brisbane, 4072, Australia_
Tokyo 152, Japan_                         TEL. +61 7 365 2097
TEL. +81 3 3726 1111 (Ext.2192)           FAX +61 7 365 1999
FAX +81 3 3729 1399                       E-mail

                               IMPORTANT DATES

                      Submission Deadline :   30 April 1994
                      Acceptance Notification :15 August 1994
                      Camera-ready Copy Due : 30 September 1994


            Conference Chair   Sadahiro Isoda (NTT)
            Program Co-Chairs  Motoshi Saeki (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
                               Roger Duke (University of Queensland)
            Local Arrangements Yoshiaki Fukazawa (Waseda University)
            Treasurer          Mikio Aoyama (Fujitsu)
            Publicity          Kazuhito Ohmaki (Electrotechnical Laboratory)

                       STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

        Ken-ichi Harada (Keio University, Japan)
        Sadahiro Isoda (NTT, Japan)
        Yong Rae Kwon (KAIST, Korea)
        Lin-shan Lee (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
        Danny Poo (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
        Karl Reed (La Trobe University, Australia)
        Vincent Shen (The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology, Hong Kong)
        Chi Su Wu (Seoul National University, Korea)

                  PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS (Tentative)

Tsuneo Ajisaka (Kyoto Univ., Japan)          Kazushi Kuse (IBM Japan)
Paul Bailes (Univ. of Queensland, Australia) Don Lawrynuik (National Univ. of Singapore)
Donghae Chi (ETRI, Korea)                    Hing-Yan Lee (Info. Tech. Inst., Singapore)
Chyan-Goei Chung (National Chiao Tung Univ.  Keung Hae Lee (Hankuk Aviation Univ., Korea)
                  Taiwan)                    John Leaney (Univ. of Tech. in Sydney, Australia)
Masahito Hirakawa (Hiroshima Univ., Japan)   Chris Marlin (Flinders Univ., Australia)
Shinichi Honiden (Toshiba, Japan)            Morio Nagata (Keio Univ., Japan)
Hisayuki Horai (Fujitsu, Japan)              Kazuhito Ohmaki (ETL, Japan)
Stan Jarzabek (National Univ. of Singapore)  Young Chul Sim (Hongik Univ., Korea)
Kyo-Chul Kang (Pohang Inst.                  Katsuyasu Toyama (NTT, Japan)
               of Sci. & Tech., Korea)       T. H. Tse (Univ. of Hong Kong)
Jyh-Sheng Ke (Inst. for Information          Seung-Min Yang (Soongsil Univ., Korea)
              Industry, Taiwan)              K.T. Yung (Hong Kong Productivity Council)
Moon Hae Kim (Kon-Kuk Univ., Korea)
Yue-Sun Kuo (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)